A New Campaign

Hope springs eternal.  It’s that time of year again.  Ground balls, working the cage, and the Schmuck v. Roch blog wars.  It feels amazing.

There’s nothing I like more than reading the constant updates from our new spring stomping grounds, Ed Smith Stadium.  It’s the start of a new campaign.  And for one O’s fan, yours truly, it’s the start of a different kind of campaign.  The Grow it Back Campaign.

Allow me to explain…I’m a dude with a beard.  I’m in the process of making it into a great, big, bushy beard.  If you caught our Fanfest videos you may have seen me and Markakis share a bearded moment together.  It was magical.  And right before that moment I had a brief back and forth with a female O’s fan.

My opinion:  Men with beards are far more powerful than men without.

Her opinion:  Men with beards are not necessarily more powerful.

Exhibit A:

Look how awesome he looks in all his Greek God Glory.  Sorry, When I Talk About His Beard I Get The Caps Syndrome.

And Nicky isn’t the only one rockin the lumber jack.

Exhibit B:

Are you kidding me?  That wolfman beard with his preference for carrying concealed weapons…that’s like the ultimate dude bro right there (No offense to Bode, Shane).

Sure there are more important things on a player’s mind than their facial hair.  And sure, most fans are more concerned with being updated about our young guys’ progress.  But, I don’t care.  You want insight and statistics, go somewhere else.  Or ask Tom or Jjaks.

I’m here for the beard.  So join me…fellow lumberjacks.  Free the faces.

Grow it back.  Grow it back.  Grow it back.  Grow it back.  That’s all Nick is going to hear from me in right field this year.

For more on baseball facial hair, peep this out from Teddy Logan.

Also, don’t forget, Tom is headed down to Sarasota to start training for the heckling season ahead.  Got to warm up those pipes.  We got a lot of yelling to do.

3 Comments

Filed under General Posts

3 responses to “A New Campaign

  1. Thumbs up on the growth! But don’t you boys get too rowdy in Sarasota because my parents live there, and then I’ll start getting press clippings in the mail from my mom about arrests at the local ball park.

    And you draw Fergie Jenkins on Opening Day, if you know what I’m talking about…

Leave a Reply

