Fantasy Baseball Outlook

I’m going to take a minute and go through each team and give my initial reactions to their squad.

Gunner Stahl – Alex Charlie Conway, reader

After a decent amount of activity on the waiver board, like dropping Jim Johnson, he’s got a pretty respectable team.  Two Yankee’s.  Zero Red Sox.  Not too bad.  Decent profile pic too.

_____________________________

It’s Business Time – Johnny Eutaw

As Jjaks mentioned, clearly proof-positive that you need to use the do-not-draft list in Yahoo.  Drafted He who shall not be named, Mr. Range Jeter, and the Rat Posada, along with 2 other Yankees.  Brutal.  Zero Red Sox though, so that’s comforting.  Decent team but not one I think he’s proud of.  Incredible profile picture.

_____________________________

The Kekembas – Stacey, Camden Chat

Two Yankees, One Red Sox.  A little curious about Thome and Bradley but she looks to have a pretty decent team as well.  Would have a stacked outfield if she could have pulled off the O’s tri-fecta.  Shame.  Pooplebon too, is a bummer.  Crazy profile pic.

_____________________________

Wyld Stallyns – Ted Logan

Two big hitters with Howard and Hill but the rest looks a little light on offense.  Hamilton and Beltran, depending on which version of themselves shows up, could really sway this team for better or worse. Only one Yankee or Red Sox and it’s Randy Winn.  Not bad for someone who auto-drafted (if I recall correctly).

_____________________________

Wife Hates Baseball – Kevin S. Paul, Wife Hates Sports

Pretty sizeable gambles with Atkins and Tejada but the pitching looks to be the strong suit.  Halladay, King Felix, K-rod.  If Bergesen and Liriano come off their injuries well, he could have a formidable line up going.  Morneau, Manny, and Granderson will surely add some pop and flyers on Cust (love him) and Scott Sizemore could turn out to be strong moves. 1 of each of the bad guys.

_____________________________

Rhodes Less Traveled – Shane Falco

Drafts Jason Heyward…love the optimism.  Offense looks strong: Kung Fu Panda, McCutchen, Kemp, Berkman (loves the op field in Houston).  Above average picthing.  Zero Yankees or Red Sox. What an avatar!

_____________________________

Det. Tom Ludlow

Runner up to me in my only other fantasy baseball experience, Tom put up a pretty decent squad.  Only 1 of the bad guys, Clay Buchholz (no hitting son of a bitch).  He took one of the guys I was going after, Neftali Feliz.  Dude has a cannon-arm.  Above average offense and pitching.  Ladies, he looks exactly like his avatar, at all times.  Sitting at home, working out, work…it doesn’t matter.

_____________________________

theCAPSlock

None of the evil ones but guess where these guys are from?  Hint – they drafted 3 Nationals players and none of whom were Strasberg (that honor went to Tom Ludlow).  Not thrilled with their pitching with guys like Lily, Sheets (who knows how he’ll fair coming off injury), Randy Wolf.  Their effective National League hurlers (well not Sheets but he should have stayed there) but none are going to blow your doors off.  What can you expect from a bunch of hockey guys.  And their avatar sucks.  Not even posting it.

_____________________________

Real Pit Beef – Matt, Baltimore Sports Report.

3 Evil ones including CC and Youklis, two of the most hated…but he also scooped up the chosen one, Matt Wieters.  Concerned about Guthrie, and Juan Pierre (HA!), and Shane Victorino where’s a helmet with two ear guards.  Aside from Guts and Joba the Hut, the pitching looks really strong.  Hungry?

_____________________________

Ghost of Joe Kelley – Heath, Dempsey’s Army

Not sure how I feel about this team.  Three Red Sox, Johnny Damon, Denard Span, Placido Polanco?  Rough.  Slightly above average offense on the starting side.  Bench, not so sure.  Average pitching.

_____________________________

Big Kruk Hunter – Bob Arctor, guest contributor

McCann, Votto, Roberts (healthy, please god), and Longoria look to keep the offense afloat with Ortiz (horrible again, please god) and Francouer who’s terrified of getting on base.  Pitching looks pretty good.  Love the team name, trash talk (Now my wife thinks I’m less disgusting…), and avatar.  Mullet reminds me of Tom’s avatar.

_____________________________

Kevin Lomax

I think I did pretty well for myself.  One Yankee and it’s Swish.  Mauer, Butler, Rasmus lead the offense.  I think my breakthrough player will be Felix Pie though.  Solid pick in the 21st round.  Pitching looks good too.  Grienke, Hamels, Porcello, Lee, and a flyer on Tillman.  Stacey, how can you be mad at that face?  Besides, I offered a trade!

_____________________________

Furcal Matter – Ryan, friend of the ESH

Bright spots:  Kinsler on the offense.  Matusz on the pitching.  Problem areas:  No catcher.  Joe Nathan.  3 Red Sox including Lester and Dice-K.  Love the addition of Flat Breezy but he’s not going to do too much to help him in the stats area…nostalgia though, huge bonus.  Not sure what’s going on with the profile pic but hopefully he can fill in the blanks.

_____________________________

Arrietable Underwear – Jjaks Clayton

Another strong baseball mind, I expected a solid team from Jjaks.  Not too many wholes up and down that line up.  Offensivly he’s got his boy Mark Reynolds, Barmes, Beckham, Pena.  Pitching is anchored by Lincecum who’s a total dude-bro, Carpenter, and Josh Johnson.  All in all it’s an above average squad.  None of the evil ones.  Love the team name like he loves unicorns.

_____________________________

Splice Today – Russ Smith

Russ caught some flack for the Pedroia love but he put together a pretty good team, even though it’s chock full’o nuts.  5 total including the no-chin Pedroia, A-Rod, Becket, Lackey, and Pettitte (2 too many t’s by the way).  Vlad and Delmon Young should bring this team back to earth but he is up there in total amassed talent and total amassed dick heads.  Generic profile pic.  Not posting.

_____________________________

Big Ben’s Wingman – Scottie, Orioles Hangout

Rides a Harley but apparently has some brand loyalty to Suzuki.  Kurt and Ichiro both hanging out with Alfonso and Rafael Soriano and Mike and Chris Young.  Geez.  Utley and Rollins lead the offense and Bedard looks to come back from injury to contribute.  Only one evil one and it’s one of the most prolific closers of our generation, Mariano.  Saves aren’t a good measure of a pitcher but they count in fantasy baseball.  Disappointed with the generic avatar.  I know you’re busy but it takes 3 minutes, man.

_____________________________

So that’s the round up.  We lost Un-PeterAngelos, Anthony, and Andrew.  Drew F., we have a slot open now, dare to join?

Without seeing the full line up, who do you think has the best chance?  Let us know in the comments.

Wyld Stallyns
20 Comments

Filed under Fantasy Baseball

20 responses to “Fantasy Baseball Outlook

  1. In an attempt to sink even lower in my already low estimation of you, you just rubbed Felix in my face again AND spelled my name wrong. Twice.

    Obviously my team is gonna win, but I do love your pitching staff.

    • I wrote this before we spoke yesterday. Sorry.

      Also, I corrected the spelling.

      You’re a great sport though, I’ll give you that. You don’t really have a shot at winning this league but at least you got that, right?

      • I don’t know what you’re talking about. I have a shot. If there were Vegas odds on my winning this league, they’d be like 3:1.

        • HA!

          You’re a good sport and funny. Double threat lady.

          • I’ve played fantasy baseball for like four years and I almost always end up near the bottom of the standings. I feel like this is definitely my year, though. After this season, all the sucky FBB players will be like, “If Stacey can do it, so can I!” I”ll be just like the 2008 Devil Rays, inspiring crappy teams everywhere.

  2. Furcal Matter

    Our Fantasy Football League is named the Brenda Bowl and that my friends is Brenda and the legend Pedro Martinez. You guys probably remember Brenda from Old Mill. I won our FF league so I left it up for the time being until next season and I am afraid of moving on to a new avatar because I have no clue where I got this picture from.

    As far as my decision to have no C and pickup of Joe Nathan last week was that he was throwing and seeing if he would be able to play. I figured I would pick him up, throw him on the DL and hope he comes back sometime during the season. Since yesterday and the news of his decision to get TJ, I have dropped Nathan and picked up one of the worst catchers in the league, Buck from TOR, for the time being. He is starting but I will focus my attention to C closer to the end of ST.

  3. Jjaks Clayton

    Clearly I am the favorite based on the sheer masculinity/awesomeness of my avatar.

    The cat’s pajamas have my avatar on them, that’s how sweet it is.

    • Johnny Eutaw

      Your avatar is just that, Jjaks…an avatar. My profile pic is accurately based in reality and blows your mind.

      OM is the jam. Thus, Stacey is a triple threat.

      And, in finality, the correlation between Pedroia’s wrist injury and Lomax’s wet noodle is too easy.

  4. Definitely Not Tom Ludlow

    I think Tom Ludlow is the clear favorite. He brings baseball knowledge like a very good looking hybrid of Theo Epstein, Billy Beane and Jake Taylor.

    In addition I hear he is quite successful with the ladies, thinks the Iron Man is gay, and wears a rattlesnake for a condom.

  5. Is Jason Schmidt signed yet?

Leave a Reply

